Review: Dark Kiss by Michelle Rowen

Title: Dark Kiss

Series: Nightwatchers #1

Author: Michelle Rowen

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Publication date: May 22nd 2012

Source: Received a copy for review from  the publisher via NetGalley

From Goodreads: 

I don’t do dangerous.  Smart, über-careful, ordinary Samantha-that’s me. But I just couldn’t pass up a surprise kiss from my number-one unattainable crush. A kiss that did something to me…something strange. Now I feel hungry all the time, but not for food. It’s like part of me is missing-and I don’t know if I can get it back. Then there’s Bishop. At first I thought he was just a street kid, but the secrets he’s keeping are as intense as his unearthly blue eyes. If he’s what I think he is, he may be the only one who can help me. But something terrifying is closing in, and the one chance Bishop and I have to stop it means losing everything I ever wanted and embracing the darkness inside me…. NIGHTWATCHERS When angels and demons must work together, something beyond evil is rising…

My Review

I’ll admit, I have mixed feelings about Dark Kiss. There were a lot of good points to it that kept me reading, yet there were also some niggles that marred what could have bumped its rating higher.

Let’s take a look at my thoughts:

Samantha: I think for around the first 48% of the book, I didn’t like the main character very much. She started off okay, but the second she’d received the kiss and had all of that to deal with, her conflicting emotions seemed to boing back and forth a little too erratically–meaning she seemed likeable and empathic in one breath, which she ruined by almost bratty thoughts in the next. It took me to around 60% before I decided I could stick with her enough to read on to the end.

Bishop: I liked him a lot. I liked his conflictions, his torment, his character. I thought the author had done a decent job with this guy.

Kraven: is it wrong that I liked him even more than Bishop? I liked his attitude. I liked his dialogue. And I suspect we’ll be seeing a lot more angst from him in future books, as well as some upcoming arguments between him and his brother.

The rest of the ‘team’: There are only three of them, but I liked that I could get a taste of their differing personalities.

Carly: sorry but I really had issues with her character. And unfortunately, she went on a major downward slide in the likeability stakes as the book progressed. Even her act of redemption at the end didn’t quite pull her back from the bottom of that slippery slope for me.

Natalie: Yeah, I kind of had her number from pretty early on. From the second Kraven blurts out his not-so-subtle and tactless question the suspicion kicked in, so that element of the story came as absolutely no surprise.

The homeless guy: I have huge suspicions about him, too, which I won’t voice in a review in case they’re considered major spoilers. However, I enjoyed his character appearances a lot and thought he was well done.

The plot: it was a decent enough plot. A new take (for me) on the whole angel/demon genre which I enjoyed unravelling.

The writing: I think this was one of the book’s bigger issues besides Samantha lacking as a relate-able mc. There were parts that just seemed so long-winded, and the ‘feelings’ Sam experienced whenever around/thinking of Bishop were seriously overdone and repetitious. We got that Bishop made Sam feel a certain way–the reader didn’t need to be reminded of it on almost every page or have the same thing told to them a hoard of times in a row but using different words. Because of these issues, the pacing seemed incredibly off because it held the story back and the book took a lot longer to read than it should have done.

However, despite the issues, I still think it’s worth the read if only to see where the series goes.

My rating: 3 stars

Have you read this title? What’d you think?

2 comments on “Review: Dark Kiss by Michelle Rowen

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Dark Kiss by Michelle Rowen « The Solitary Bookworm

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Dark Kiss by Michelle Rowen | The Solitary Bookworm

I love it when people talk to me. :o)

